Senet - An Ancient Egyptian Board Game (2-Player)
Official Rules for Senet DO NOT Exist
Each player starts with 5 pieces aligned on the top 10 spots of the board, spaced evenly.
Goal of the game:
Remove all your pieces from the board. This is achieved by moving through all the square tiles (Houses) in an "S" pattern across all rows of the board. This process can be quickened by landing on a special House.
How to play:
Toss the Senet sticks. How they land determines your move. You may only move one piece at a time, must move the thrown amount, and have to move if you are able to.
Amount to move is denoted on the side of the board. Some tosses allow you to toss again.
Landing on the "House of Rebirth" (Scarab) gives you the ability to split your subsequent tosses between two of your pieces provided the square remains under your control.
Landing on the "House of Re-Atoum" (Eye of Horus) allows you to toss again. A toss with 2 sticks upward allows you to remove your piece early.
Landing on the "House of Truth" (Pyramids) allows you to toss again. A toss with 3 sticks upward allows you to remove your piece early.
Landing on the "House of Water" (Nile River) sends you back to the House of Rebirth. Unless that space is already owned by you or is protected (see below), in which case the effect is null.
Landing on the "House of Happiness" (Ankh) is mandatory. A player can not progress to the final tiles unless first landing on this square.
Landing on a square controlled by your opponent sends your opponent back to where your piece started when you tossed.
A piece is safe (protected) from your opponent only if you have an adjacent piece directly beside it along the "S" path.
Once a piece passes lands on the final tile, it is removed from the board.
If stationed at the House of Re-Atoum or Truth and you failed to toss a special effect, on your next turn, if you toss the proper amount, you can choose to remove your piece instead of move.
If an opponent bumps you to the House of Re-Atoum or Truth, you do not get to toss again but may still remove your piece if you toss correctly on your subsequent turns.
Landing on the House of Happiness and the final tile must be done exactly. You can not truncate a toss to land on a required square.
If you can not land on the House of Happiness of final tile exactly and all other pieces are exhausted of moves, your turn ends and you will have to try again on your next toss.
Various other rules & variations.