MakerBot Print is our newest print-prepration software, which supports native CAD files and STL assemblies,
allows you to interact with all your printers via the Cloud, and many other exciting new features.

Download Now

Spool holder seems weak

Please Login to Comment

Im REALLY new to 3d printers... sorry for my ignorance.
Ive printed the spool holder that came with my tornado 3 times... each time it seems weak. I can twist it easily. wont hold up a spool.
How do I make it more solid?
What settings do you need to know?
Thanks all!
C

A photo of the printed spoolholders can help

Assuming you are using the gcode from Tevo, i can think of two things for now:
-the gcode is for Pla. Are you using PLA? And not Petg or Abs?
-Your nozzle can be (partly) clogged. Not enough plastic = not enough adhesion = weak part.

Wow that doesn't look good.
Can be clogging which causes under-extrusion . Does the extruder make a clicking sound?
Clogging can be caused by a few reasons, I give you the problems and solutions i had with my Tornado the last two years. Not at a particularly order.

-It is already clogged. Try to pull out the filament by hand cold (of course open the extruder with the handle when pulling). When it is stuck heat up the hotend to 70 degrees and try again. No luck heat up with 5 degrees etc.
-Check your fan at the front of the hotend. It must start turning when you heat up your hotend above 50 degrees. If not, the cold end (cooling block) also get heated and filament clogs. Check if the fan spins freely by loosing the green cover. Looking at the remains of your first layer, which looks not to bad, this can be the problem.
-Check if you can push the filament through the heated hotend (try 230 degrees) by hand (open extruder and push in until it extrudes). You must have a constant flow of 0.4 thickness.

-Check that the tube has no move at the both connectors. If there is some movement, that is probably your problem, replace them.