MakerBot Print is our newest print-prepration software, which supports native CAD files and STL assemblies,
allows you to interact with all your printers via the Cloud, and many other exciting new features.

Download Now

Creator Pro/Dreamer must have upgrades?

Please Login to Comment

I'm wondering what the more experienced users here find as a must have upgrade for the Creator Pro and the Dreamer. I'm guessing most parts arwe swappable, as are the upgrades?

Things I have noticed. The stock fan plenum feeds to only one extruder and not so well either. The extruder assembly isn't mounted rigid at all. Is this on purpose? When I level it, and it's too low. The "build plate leveling sheet" lifts the assembly up easily instead of not letting me fit the sheet underneath the nozzle. The printer vibrates when printing, it either needs stabilizing feet or weight added to it to keep it rigid. But since I'm new to the Flashforge machines.... I'm sure this has all been figured out.

What are the most important things to upgrade on the machine to get a more reliable printer?

The best upgrade I have done on my Dreamer was to fit a PEI sheet onto the bed as a printing surface. Glass smooth print base. Once the bed temp is over 50°C, nothing will dislodge your print but once the bed temp drops below 50°C the parts just fall off. No need to attack it with a scraper and mess up you levelling. I haven't had to adjust my bed level for about 2 years now and all it takes to clean the bed is a quick spray and wipe with isopropyl alcohol.

Go easy. This is a super reliable printer out of the box. If you are having problems, drop back to default settings and make slow increments on setting changes. Odds on you are doing something wrong and the printer is fine.

This thread is full of ideas people have done to improve their FFCP.
This group contains printable parts to improve the printer.
On my website you can find another summary of improvements.