MakerBot Print is our newest print-prepration software, which supports native CAD files and STL assemblies,
allows you to interact with all your printers via the Cloud, and many other exciting new features.

Download Now

Bad Filament?

Please Login to Comment

This is the second time this has happened it ends up being a huge hassle. It just stops extruding my retraction rate is lower than it was before and my print temp is 208 for the PLA but I don’t know what else.

Ive read on multiple sites that The anet A8 heat sink and fan are next to useless (deadwood engineering). I have been running an anet A8 without a heat sink and fan for 2 years (at times above 230c) and have not seen this issue. I have had clogs after changing between filament types (like ABS too PLA) - usually the stepper just clicks and clicks. Clean your nozzle and check and make sure that the temp is what it says it is.

For PLA to bend like that and not break it has to be heated. Guess you are lucky tried that and was not happy with the problems it caused.

Same here I'm not 100% sure why it keeps doing it the area does get hot but I mean I've done a 48 hour print at one setting without issues like this and no fan and heatsink on it so I don't know.

Looks like the filament is getting to hot above the heat sink the filament has to be heated in order to bend in that manner. Do you run the printer without the fan? Or did you remove it to take the picture and clear the jam? The tube should be as close to the gear as possible. 208 may be a bet hot but should not cause your problem.

He does not have any fan and heat-sink installed, witch should be, you can see the screws on the bottom.
208c is not too really hot, but at the limit of the highest temp what PLA can be printed
Am printing at 210 with out any issues .